The Expendable Rangers- Recut

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Class Assignments, Video Mash-up
Tags:

For my class mash-up, I wanted to have another go at the whole “recut” thing because I had so much fun last year working on my Toy Story Rambo Remix. Starting this project, the hardest part of doing a recut is to do something that’s original and funny, and I spent a long time trying to come up with an idea. So I finally decided to use “The Expendables” trailer and mashed it to various scenes from Power Ranger episodes. I felt that this was a good idea, because “The Expendables” was quite a recent movie and there were not many mash-ups of it. I also liked how I was bringing life back to something so old; the first season of Power Rangers. I can remember when i was a kid and watching all of the episodes and it gave me quite the nostalgia from my childhood years creating this mash-up.

Starting this mash-up, I used Firefox’s YouTube Downloader to download all of the audio and video I needed for my project. If you use the Firefox browser, the YouTube downloader is a MUST! The addon made the whole process of grabbing video very stream-lined and easy. After I had grabbed some video, I opened iMovie, which is the video-editing software that comes standard on almost all Macs. From there I imported all of the scenes I was going to sample from to create my mash-up. After that, I was just a matter of choosing and timing to match the scenes from the “Power Rangers” to the audio of “The Expendables” trailer.

Honestly, the hardest part of this recut was coming up with the idea. I thought up of 10 or 12 golden ideas only to see that someone else had done them. Not only that, but their videos had a lot of views, which just made me think, “That could have been my video!” Past that, some other problems I ran in to were finding good quality videos (Power Rangers season 1 is pretty darn old) and lip syncing the video to the audio. However, I felt that I was pretty successful with the outcome of my trailer. I was able to keep an identity to each character and effectively blend the two movies together. Anyway let me know what you guys think!

Comments
  1. Kevin says:

    Yes! Nothing like the good old original power rangers. The expendable trailer works well with the video of the power rangers. Good Stuff

  2. Amy says:

    I haven’t seen The Expendables but you mashed this trailer very well with the Power Rangers clips. The action clips you found went great with the intense parts of the music.

  3. LOVE THIS! the original power rangers were the best! I havent seen the Expendables but it fits so good with the parts of hte Power Rangers you picked. The villans in Power Rangers are so funny. good job!

  4. This brought back some old memories. I haven’t seen the expendables as well, but your mash-up was really good. Your lip-syncing was pretty good and I also feel your pain on coming up with a good idea and then finding someone else did it, which happened to me a lot during this assignment.

  5. Jenn says:

    oh power rangers! so many memories! I feel like you did a good job of syncing up the audio with the scenes. You also kept the same voices for each character which I think added to making it seem like a real trailer

  6. Jim says:

    Kevin,

    I agree with the commentors who have come before me, great idea well executed. You caught the dialogue right on at several moment, particularly with the 4 and a half men line. Also, the action scenes were on the mark as well. What I really liked was that your explanation of why you chose this particular example, namely because it was a movie that hadn’t been mashed up, as well as the nostalgia value of Power Rangers for you personally. I still think the power of nostalgia is one of the greatest and most under theorized forces of the internet, and seeing you frame it here makes that all the more apparent for me.

  7. Claire says:

    It’s weird how the guy with the spaceship on his head becomes a Boba Fett like character because of the raspy voice-over. It’s obvious that The Expendables takes itself more seriously than Power Rangers. I realize now just how comical PR is and silly, really. Sad that I was the red Power Ranger for Halloween one year :/

  8. Christopher says:

    I had a similar problem, the problem is I only have violent movies, planet earth (the non-opera one) and comedies. I looked through like 50 disney trailers. I almost had an awesome Alice in Wonderland and Platoon mix up, however the trailer mentioned the walrus and the carpenter, and there is no walrus in the platoon. so the search continued.

  9. […] a good youtube movie downloader (that’s not the one I found, but it is a good one i found on kevin’s blog). I looked through youtube for suitable trailers. Most of my movies are extremely violent, psychotic, […]

  10. Lindsay says:

    “I also liked how I was bringing life back to something so old; the first season of Power Rangers”
    This statement definitely relates to my reaction to your mashup–I loved the Power Rangers in elementary school, and seeing that 90s-esque footage was such a blast from the past! Choosing to mashup an old show with a new movie is a great idea. Finding all that video must’ve taken forever.

  11. […] Expendable VS The Power Rangers Kevin Chernawski’s posts about his work are always as good as the work itself, and that is saying a lot. He always takes a […]

  12. […] Kevin Cherniawski’s “The Expendable Rangers- Recut” […]

  13. I’m really impressed.

Leave a Reply

